What would you do?

So I saw this post on Facebook recently and it peaked my interest.  Surprising cause the only videos I typically click on are Trump parodies, SNL clips, cute babies giggling incessantly (I think its an addiction), and the occasional makeup and hair tutorials (no expert yet, I’ll let you know when I get there).

Before I go into why I thought this video was interesting, I’d love for you to watch it first, so here you go!

Well….what did you think?  This video was posted by Anonymous who obviously has an agenda, but in general, do you think you would conform like the others in the video? Or would you act differently and keep seated?

I pride myself on being fairly outspoken.  I will speak my mind, even when my opinion is in the minority or out of left field.  It may not have served me well on EVERY occasion (I won’t lie, there’s been a few times where I wish I bit my tongue), but overall I’ve been glad to be different.  So I’d like to say that I for sure would not conform in this regard.

BUT there is a part of me that wonders.  Wonders if I truly would do that.  I would certainly question why everyone was sitting up and down at every ding, but then after perhaps asking others around me (similar to the guy in the blue shirt), I may start exhibiting the same behavior.  Not so much to socially conform, but to get called for my damn appointment!   I probably assume that in order to be called for my “eye appointment” in this case, I need to stand up and down at every ding.  At least that’s how I would rationalize it for myself.

So let me know your thoughts?  What do you think you would do?

2 thoughts on “What would you do?

  1. Hi Durrana, There are so many experiments out there like this and they are always interesting to see. I would like to think that I would not go ahead and do this because I tend not to do things just because that is the way they have always been done. I think I would question why and what would happen if you didn’t do it. I wouldn’t just go with something because someone told me that thought they had to. Who knows though because it is easy to talk about what you expect you would do without actually being in the situation.

    Great post, should create a very interesting discussion.
    -Michele

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this video. They are indeed many interesting social behaviours that we’re so unaware. I once read about the case of this girl that was being killed in a street and more than 30 people heard her scream for help and no one did… Sociologists concluded that human behaviour when in a group situation don’t take ownership as they do if they are alone or singled out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

